The Premier Showcase of American Mining

News & Events

It's official! NMHF has four new members.

October 10,2018

On Saturday, September 29th, 2018, Professor John M. Guilbert, Dr. Leo J. Miller, Robert E. Murray, and Douglas B. Silver were officially inducted into the National Mining Hall of Fame by NMHFM Board Chair, Frank McAllister. We also honored the Freeport-McMoRan Foundation for the amazing and significant work they do to educate the public about the importance of mining to our daily lives with the Prazen Living Legend of Mining Award.  We are sorry if you missed it; what an inspiring evening!  Click here to view event photos.


About the Museum

Explore our 25,000 sq.ft. of interactive and informative exhibits!

About Us



Educational Resources

Hall of Fame

Learn about the industrious men and women who changed the mining world.

About the Hall of Fame

Browse Inductee Database

2018 Inductees

Prazen Award

Matchless Mine

Visit the historic site of the Matchless Mine and learn the story of the infamous Silver King and Baby Doe.

About the Matchless


Hours and Location