The Premier Showcase of American Mining

Board of Governors

The Board of Governors was formed by the Board of Directors. Governors originally were appointed for life. Starting in 2015, new Governors are appointed for three-year terms. The Governors are chosen from the community of the mineral resource industry on the basis of eminence, leadership, and contribution to the community and industry. The Governors recommend to the Board of Directors the individuals who should be recognized in the National Mining Hall of Fame.
Chair – Barbara Filas-Term Ends 2022
Filas Engineering & Environmental Services LLc
Denver, CO
Robert Freas-Term Ends 2020
President, IMRC Consulting
Brentwood, TN
L. Michael Kaas-Life Member
Retired Director, Office of Managing Risk and Public Safety, U.S. Department of the Interior
Arlington, VA
Dr. Michael Karmis-Term Ends 2021
Stonie Barker Professor, Department of Mining and Minerals Engineering &
Director, Virginia Center for Coal and Energy Research, Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, VA
Marc Le Vier-Term Ends 2020
President, K Marc Le Vier & Associates
Highlands Ranch, CO 80129
Ta M. Li-Term Ends 2022
Retired Vice President Business Development, Tetra Tech
Golden, CO
Thomas J. O’Neil-Life Member
Retired President & CEO, Cleveland-Cliffs, Inc.
Prescott, AZ
Dr. Jonathan G. Price-Term Ends 2021
Nevada State Geologist Emeritus
Reno, NV
Robert W. Schafer-Term ends 2020
Eagle Mines Management, LLC
Salt Lake City, UT

About the Museum

Explore our 25,000 sq.ft. of interactive and informative exhibits!

About Us



Educational Resources

Hall of Fame

Learn about the industrious men and women who changed the mining world.

About the Hall of Fame

Browse Inductee Database

2018 Inductees

Prazen Award

Matchless Mine

Visit the historic site of the Matchless Mine and learn the story of the infamous Silver King and Baby Doe.

About the Matchless


Hours and Location